glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

the American nightmare

Time Fragment
1986 graduated from Reformed Theological Seminary Jackson Miss.-we moved to Houston Texas Fall of 1986
(My minister internship at Covenant PCA Houston, Texas with Dr. Joey Pipa Jr. 1986-1988. Joey left for Calif. and I looked for a call and never received one. I remembered the Lord using these two books to keep me from cracking up. The books were these two "Waking From The American Dream: Growing Through Your Disappointments" by Donald W. McCullough and "God's Waiting Room: Hope In The Midst Of Uncertainty" by Rick Yohn. )
1987
1988
1989
1990
1991 We left Texas and moved here to Holland July 1991-we have lived in this house from July 1991 till October 29, 2014

It is 7:49 AM Wednesday morning in the flow of my Life time. Yesterday morning I dug out of a box of sermon cassettes a sermon I preached at Covenant Presbyterian Church in America January 27, 1987 on First John 2:29; 3:1 "If you know that He is righteous, you know that everyone who practices righteousness is born of Him. Behold what manner of love the Father has bestowed on us, that we should be called children of God! Therefore the world does not know us, because it did not know Him" 1 John 2:29;3:1. I did not listen to all of the sermon because Carol came home from visiting one of her uncles (this uncle is 93 years old-his wife died soon after they had celebrated 70 years of marriage).

I thought my sermon was not bad-it was not a smooth delivery, but it had heart. I did sprinkle throughout the sermon Reformed Theology which was where I was at back then. I did mention though in the sermon Franciscan mysticism. When we lived in Houston doing my ministerial internship I got into Christian Spirituality/the Contemplative Life.

I did not my internship between 1987 and 1988 at Covenant PCA. But when I finished my internship we did not leave Houston till 1991. For three years I looked for a call from a PCA church or any conservative Presbyterian church to get ordained and begin my life as a Teaching Elder. I spent three years searching but there was nothing. I could not find the Church. Where was the Church? Where did the Church live? What was the telephone number of the Church? I was left absolutely alone those years in Texas. But I had my wife and kids. I had our dog Mack and my books to keep me going down the road of death.

Finally Carol and I decided it was time to leave Texas and move to Holland Michigan to raise our kids and be close to her family. By this time Carol's Dad had died and her mother was a widow. Well more could be written but it has all been written about here in the past.

I have nothing to do today super important. Existence keeps on decaying. No way out.

8:10 a.m. - 2014-10-29

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

catsoul
nikkifoofoo
whystinger
oct0ber
browndamask
koorikaze
mal-adjusted
lobo21
tobehis
weatethesea
raven72d
newschick
jondavid2010
journey2one
realthoughts
freakyouout
trapeze-act
msjessica
fragilegirl8
fan4