glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

the one way of salvation from sin by the propitiatory death of Christ

It is 9:34 AM after midnight in the flow. I am down in the lower level. As I type these words I can our washing machine washing clothes. It is a blessing having a washing machine. Carol just left to visit her mother. When she gets back we are driving to South Haven to visit a used book store and walk down to Lake Michigan. The sun is shining today and we want to get out of town.

I got up this morning around 6:11 AM. When I got up I found my wife reading through the morning newspaper. I got a cup of coffee and messed with our main computer.

After messing our main computer I went to my study and wrote in my private diary. The drifted through the morning looking at my books on the history of the interpretation of the Old Testament book The Prophecy of Ezekiel. I looked at these books this morning on Ezekiel---

"Ezekiel" by William Greenhill [Geneva Series Of Commentaries]

"Dictionary of Biblical Interpretation" Two Volumes General Editor John H. Hayes

"Biblical Interpretation Past & Present" by Gerald Bray

"The Old Testament Since The Reformation" by Emil G. Kraeling

"Dictionary for Theological Interpretation of the Bible" General Editor Kevin J. VanHoozer

"A History of Biblical Interpretation" Volume 2 "The Medieval through the Reformation" Edited by Alan J. Hauser & Duane F. Watson

"New International Dictionary of Old Testament Theology & Exegesis" Volume 4 General Editor Willem A. VanGemeren article 'Ezekiel' pp.615-634

The reason why I looked at all the above books this morning was because last night in looking through my new commentary "Ezekiel, Daniel" Old Testament XII [Reformation Commentary On Scripture] I was upset somewhat that they mainly used a 17th century English Puritan commentary on Ezekiel (William Greenhill's commentary on Ezekiel) and not the Reformers. But in looking at my books this morning on the history of the exegesis and interpretation of Ezekiel I discovered little was written on the OT Book of Ezekiel. So the editors had to use Greenhill's commentary on Ezekiel because there was not much else available to them.

William Greenhill (1581-1671)

John Calvin (1509-1564)

Martin Luther (1483-1546)

John Calvin "started lecturing on the book of Ezekiel at the end of his life. His lectures began on January 20, 1563, and came to an abrupt end on February 2, 1564."

I recently pre-orderd a volume titled "Dictionary of the Old Testament: Prophets" (The Ivp Bible Dictionary Series) Editor J. Gordon McConville. This is the last volume in this series. I have the other three volumes in my small hermit hut---

"Dictionary Of The Old Testament: Pentateuch" Editors: T. Desmond Alexander & David W. Baker [A Compendium Of Contemporary Biblical Scholarship]

"Dictionary Of The Old Testament: Historical Books" Editors: Bill T. Arnold & H. G. M. Williamson

"Dictionary Of The Old Testament: Wisdom, Poetry & Writings" Editors Tremper Longman III & Peter Enns

As a Bible believing evangelical Christian I read and study the Holy Bible. I am always amazed that there a very few professing Christians that study and read the Bible. Weird. I have been reading and studying the Bible going on 42 years. I graduated from Reformed Bible College and Reformed Theological Seminary. I am a Master of Divinity. I always tell folks the reason why I am not wanted in churches is because I love the Bible the the Lord Jesus Christ.

So the morning goes by. I have been reading or trying to read this morning "Union With Christ: In Scripture, History, And Theology" by Robert Letham. I have not read anything new in this book thusfar. Thus far Letham has covered the same material I recently read in a book titled "A New Testament Biblical Theology: The Unfolding Of The Old Testament In The New" by G. K. Beale.

Well I will close to drift through the day. Existence keeps speeding by.

10:29 a.m. - 2012-02-17

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lobo21
weatethesea
raven72d
gr8legs
gonzoprophet
newschick
kabukicharms
x--8letters
jondavid2010
realthoughts
msboston
exegetical
journey2one
koorikaze
freakyouout
coldwars
tobehis
jonathan
fragilegirl8
broken-in-nc
msjessica
poolagirl
fan4
talktogod
jedidiah77
joy-in-god
oldjake
trapeze-act