glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The Portable Walt Whitman

It is 9:08 AM Thursday morning in the flow. I am down in the lower level (basement) writing. Carol has gone to bed for the day. I found out this morning she is off tonight from work. Outside it is cold, rainy and plain ugly. What can you do but wait for the New Creation to come.

I got up this morning around 7:11 AM. I remember before waking up peeling covers off LP's in a dream. I got up made a pot of coffee, messed with the computer and wrote in my diary about last night. Now I am down here writing in my blogs. I have spent years writing down my life. Do not know why? All I am is dust blowing in the wind. I am not important.

Last night I did my first shift volunteering in our local public library used book store. I sold $68.00 dollars of used books. I got for working a free book titled "The Portable Walt Whitman" Revised And Enlarged Edition With A Biographical And Critical Introduction By Mark Van Doren and Biographical Checklist And Chronology By Gay Wilson Allen. I also bought for one dollar a used book titled "Selected Poems And Two Plays Of William Butler Yeats" Edited And Introduced By M. L. Rosenthal. I set aside two used books at the book knook to get later.

Recently I read two biographies by Gay Wilson Allen---

"William James" a biography by Gay Wilson Allen (a wonderful biography on the life of William James)

"Waldo Emerson" a biography by Gay Wilson Allen

Gay Wilson Allen also wrote a biography on the life of Walt Whitman titled "The Solitary Singer".

A long time ago I started reading a biography on Whitman titled "Walt Whitman's America: A Cultural Biography" by David S. Reynolds. I also have a biography on Whitman titled "Walt Whitman: A Life" by Justin Kaplan.

I also have this book on Walt Whitman "The Times of Melville and Whitman" by Van Wyck Brooks.

I remember Allen Ginsberg once saying he always carried around with him "Leaves of Grass" by Walt Whitman.

Last night in reading "Jack Kerouac and Allen Ginsberg: The Letters" Ginsberg mentions the Professor at Columbia Mark Van Doren, he was one of Ginsberg professors at Columbia.

So here I sit at 9:30 AM Thursday morning feeling in need of a meal. Do not know what I will do today to destroy Time? I have been reading these books lately when not sitting in silence before the face of God---

"Brother Souls: John Clellon Holmes, Jack Kerouac, and the Beat Generation" by Ann Charters and Samuel Charters

"Jack Kerouac and Allen Ginsberg: The Letters" Edited By Bill Morgan and David Stanford

"Conversation in the Cathedral" a novel by Mario Vargas Llosa

"A Spiritual Appeal To Christ's Bride" by Jodocus van Lodenstein (1620-1677)

Well I will close to search for food.

Walt Whitman

9:40 a.m. - 2010-10-28

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

joy-in-god
x--8letters
realthoughts
exegetical
msboston
journey2one
koorikaze
coldwars
freakyouout
jonathan
fragilegirl8
msjessica
broken-in-nc
trapeze-act
fan4
poolagirl
jedidiah77
oldjake
talktogod
silverluna
jondavid2010
newschick
kabukicharms