glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

the Lord knows what is best for us

It is 2:15 PM Sunday afternoon. Carol went to bed for the afternoon. I have been reading blogs down in the basement. I thought about going for another walk, but not in the mood to go out the front door this afternoon. So I am down in the basement reading online journals.

This morning while my wife was at church I read The Book of Judges and Richard Rogers (1551-1618) massive folio on Judges 990 pages. I read Rogers sermons 37 & 38 on Judges 6:11-16. I got out this commentary by this old English Puritan divine because I wanted to see how he would apply the text/Judges 6. I am a student of the history of biblical interpretation. When I was in seminary I took a class where we studied the Book of Judges. My professor for the class Dr. Dale Ralph Davis has published a commentary on Judges titled "Such A Great Salvation: Expostion Of The Book of Judges." Dr. Davis was a great Bible teacher/preacher. I do not know if Dr. Davis is still alive, but I always enjoyed his lectures when we were at Reformed Theological Seminary, Jackson, Miss..

I told myself when I made a decision to read through the Bible once again I would not make it an intellectual exercise, but read the Bible to HEAR the voice of the Lord. So I am not going to read all of Rogers sermons on Judges or read Dr. Davis exposition of Judges. But I will read here and there as I go through the Bible over the year 2009. I have a big library that was built for the goal of helping me preach and teach the holy Scriptures. I sometimes miss not functioning in the office of a teaching elder, but the Lord knows what is best for us.

"Not many of you should presume to be teachers, my brothers, because you know that we who teach will be judged more strictly." James 3:1

So here I sit now at 2:45 PM writing in my diary on my lap top. What else have I done today fun and exciting? I looked through the Sunday New York Times today. I wrote in my personal diary and had lunch with my wife when she got home from church at 11:40 AM. I talked to my wife before she went to bed on the topic of Trinitarian theology. "And this is the testimony: God has given us eternal life, and this life is in his Son. He who has the Son has life; he who does not have the Son of God does not have life." 1 John 5:11,12

I do not know what I will read this afternoon? Tomorrow will be a Monday. Time keeps rolling along. Well I suppose I will close to wander my cell.

"No good tree bears bad fruit, nor does a bad tree bear good fruit. Each tree is recognized by its own fruit. People do not pick figs from thornbushes, or grapes from briers. The good man brings good things out of the good stored up in his heart, and the evil man brings evil things out of the evil stored up in his heart. For out of the overflow of his heart his mouth speaks." Luke 6:43-45

"Put to death, therefore, whatever belongs to your earthly nature: sexual immorality, impurity, lust, evil desires and greed, which is idolatry. Because of these, the wrath of God is coming." Colossians 3:5,6

music: Guided By Voices "Propeller"

3:00 p.m. - 2009-05-03

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

freakyouout
jonathan
fragilegirl8
broken-in-nc
msjessica
poolagirl
fan4
joy-in-god
trapeze-act
oldjake
jedidiah77
silverluna
talktogod
realthoughts