glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

You do not delight in burnt offering

It is 9:23 AM Wednesday morning in the flow of existence. Carol and I just got back from doing stuff. Carol woke me up at 7:12 AM getting dress to take Rudy for a walk downtown, get bagels and go to the grocery store for pop. I got up and went with her since there is nothing else to do.
While we were downtown while Carol walked Rudy I went to Lemonjello's and got myself a muffin and a large mocha to celebrate existence.

Now here I sit in my cell writing on my lap top listening to The Black Keys and drinking a mocha. I think Carol and the kids are eating bagels in the dining room. I think Caleb is smoking and messing with my computer.

Last night we had a big turkey family dinner and then opened Christ Mass gifts. After we opened gifts the boys and I watched the new Black Keys concert DVD. At 10 o'clock PM Carol and I watched a television show. Beth had gone to bed and the boys were down in the basement playing darts (Caleb belongs to a dart league in Boston).

Yesterday is a blur. Carol slept all afternoon. I wrote in my diary and read "Susan Sontag: The Making of an Icon" by Carl Rollyson & Lisa Paddock.

I have no plans for the day. Carol works tonight and she will sleep on Christ Mass day.

I have nothing pressing on my mind these days. Since everything is in a state of chaos I am just floating around the hermit cell.

I am right now writing in my study at my desk on my lap top. I have these books on my study desk---

"Susan Sontag: The Making of an Icon" by Carl Rollyson & Lisa Paddock

"Against Interpretation" essays by Susan Sontag

"Reborn: Susan Sontag Journals & Notebooks 1947-1963" Edited by David Rieff

"Shadow Country" a novel by Peter Matthiessen

"George, Being George: George Plimpton's life as told, admired, deplored, and envied by 200 friends, relatives, lovers, acquaintances, rivals-and a few unappreciative observers" Edited by Nelson W. Aldrich, Jr.

I have been mainly reading "Susan Sontag: The Making of an Icon", do not know why? For many years I could not read secular books. I thought it was a waste of time reading books by pagans, especially women who were not lovers of the Lord Jesus Christ. But several years ago I realized all my Christian learning had gotten me nowhere. Nobody in the american evangelical movement cared for Reformed theology or 17th cent. English Puritan spirituality. I was big fat freak in the american visible church, so I slowly went back to the reading habits of my West Coast youth.

I am always in the presence of God, even when I am reading pagan literature. I still read spiritual books like these four that are near me as I sit here talking to myself in my cell---

"The Hidden Man Of The Heart (1 Peter 3:4) The Cultivation Of The Heart In Orthodox Christian Anthropology" by Archimandrite Zacharias

"The Enlargement Of The Heart "Be ye also enlarged" (2 Corinthians 6:13) in the Theology of Saint Silouan the Athonite and Elder Sophrony of Essex" by Archimandrite Zacharias

"On Prayer" by Archimandrite Sophrony

"The Spiritual Espousals And Other Works" by John Ruusbroec

Here in my study I have a small collection of Christian books that would blow the mind of your average pietistic american evangelical. Even though I feel like a freak in the american christian world I know I am cool. "Therefore let no one boast in men. For all things are yours: whether Paul or Apollos or Cephas, or the world or life or death, or things present or things to come-all are your yours. And you are Christ's and Christ is God's." 1 Corinthians 3:21-23

It is going on 10 o'clock AM Wednesday morning. What else can I report as we come to the end of the year 2008?

Last night when we opened gifts the boys gave me for Christ Mass a box set Pearl Jam "Live At The Gorge" and Beth got me the new Black Keys CD "Attack & Release." I do not want anything. I have everything a poor old hermit could need in a dead sin cursed world. I am seeking to be filled with the Holy Spirit and to speak words of truth in a world of lies.

"Deliver me from the guilt of bloodshed, O God, The God of my salvation, And my tongue shall sing aloud of Your righteousness. O Lord, open my lips, And my mouth shall show forth Your praise. For You do not desire sacrifice, or else I would give it; You do not delight in burnt offering.

The sacrifices of God are a broken spirit, A broken and contrite heart-These, O God, You will not despise." Psalm 51:14-17

Well I suppose I will close to wander the house. Existence keeps rolling along.

music: Pearl Jam "Live At The Gorge July 23rd 2006"

10:35 a.m. - 2008-12-24

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

freakyouout
jonathan
fragilegirl8
broken-in-nc
msjessica
poolagirl
fan4
joy-in-god
trapeze-act
oldjake
jedidiah77
silverluna
talktogod
realthoughts