glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

the doctrine of the discerning of spirits

It is 7:46 AM Friday morning in the stream of being alive for me. I got up this morning around 6:17 AM. When I got up I could hear Carol singing to herself in the living room. I made myself a cup of tea and walked to my computer to read stuff. The world is in a sorry mess.

Carol went to hospital staff meeting this morning. Carol plans to do errands after her staff meeting. Carol is always on the move. It takes a lot to get me to move.

I made myself a pot of oatmeal this morning for breakfast and a piece of wheat toast. I hate white bread. I have nothing life saving to do today.

Last night I watched television and talked to myself. Carol and I went to bed around 11:05 PM last night. Carol passed out next to me as I read "The Selected Letters of Allen Ginsberg & Gary Snyder" Edited by Bill Morgan.

I remember Carol getting up around 5:30 PM yesterday. Beth called and talked to her mother last night.

I got out last night to look at a book titled "Spiritual Direction in the Early Christian East" by Irenee Hausherr. I never saw in the churches I attended any spiritual direction being practiced by the ministers. American religion is totally individualistic. People in american churches see no need for spiritual direction from their teaching or ruling elders. Carol's elder for example knows nothing about her spiritual condition. I doubt if Carol's pastor knows if she is saved or lost. As far as I can see no pastoral care is being exercised in Carol's life by her elders. Carol is on her own when it comes to living the Christian life. I suppose she gets something out of going to church. Carol never talks about Covenant PCA. It has been several years since I attended Covenant PCA.

It is sad to see the sheep of God with no shepherds watching over their souls. I suppose ministers are too busy to care for the flock of God. Some folks believe the Church is their shepherd. All these Christians have to do is go to church and their souls are saved. The Church will save them as long as they partake of the sacraments regularly. If you do not believe in sovereign free grace then you believe the visible Church is your savior. I do not see the visible Church as my mother or savior.

I suppose some folks see work as their spiritual savior. Their life is their job. No work no life.

I plan to read today if I can stay awake "We Preach Not Ourselves: Paul on Proclamation" by Michael P. Knowles.

Well I will close to pray for a spiritual father.

music" Califone "Roots & Crowns"

8:16 a.m. - 2008-12-05

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

freakyouout
jonathan
fragilegirl8
broken-in-nc
msjessica
poolagirl
fan4
joy-in-god
trapeze-act
oldjake
jedidiah77
silverluna
talktogod
realthoughts