glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

to come to know God is a matter of experience, not speculation

It is 12:51 PM I can not remember if I have written here today. No I posted stuff from the Holy Bible and some of the pictures I took this morning while walking Rudy at Van Raalte Farm. But have not written words here yet today. I was up at 8:15 AM today which is not normal for me. I went to bed late and got up late.

When I got up this morning I made myself a cup of tea and a bagel with cream cheese. Carol got home as I was sitting down in the dining room with my tea and bagel. She went to the Farmer's Market after work this morning and got peaches.

Carol went to bed and I decided to take Rudy for a walk at Van Raalte Farm. When we got back from our walk I left to visit a local Christian bookstore to see how they were doing (this store is a new Christian bookstore that mainly sells Reformed Puritan books so is not that popular with the Christians here in this area). I went to this Christian bookstore and talked to the owner for almost an hour and left. I did buy two books while there "The Inner Sanctum of Puritan Piety: John Flavel's Doctrine of Mystical Union with Christ" by J. Stephen Yuille and "Christ Our Rest: The Doubts and Fears of the Believer Practically Considered" by David Pitcairn (d. 1870). I mainly went to this Christian bookstore to see if they had a new book titled "Saved by Grace: The Holy Spirit's Work in Calling and Regeneration" by Herman Bavinck-here is a description of this book---

"In the late nineteenth century, two distinct reform movements coming out of the Dutch State Reformed Church (the Afscheiding of 1834 and the Doleantie of 1886) merged to form The Reformed Churches of the Netherlands (De Geereformeerde Kerken in Nederland). While both groups had much in common, there remained fundamental points of disagreement, which erupted into controversies over such doctrines as immediate regeneration and presumptive regeneration.
In Saved by Grace, Herman Bavinck discusses God�s gracious work in bringing fallen sinners to new life and salvation. He gives a careful historical analysis that shows how Reformed theologians have wrestled to understand and express the Holy Spirit�s work in calling and regeneration since the seventeenth century. Bavinck also brings exegetical precision and theological clarity to the discussion, carefully avoiding the errors of undervaluing and overvaluing the use of means in work of salvation. This book, therefore, takes up questions with which every new generation of Reformed writers must grapple."

The owner of the bookstore told me he would pick me up a copy when he is at Purtian Reformed Theological Seminary bookstore and I could pick it up next week. I am enjoy reading Bavinck after reading someone like Ginsberg.

I am a student ot the doctrine of conversion-calling and regeneration. You must be born again-"Jesus answered, "Most assuredly, I say to you, unless one is born of water and the Spirit, he cannot enter the kingdom of God." John 3:5. If you are not "born again" converted you are lost and going to hell. "If anyone does not love the Lord Jesus Christ, let him be accursed. O Lord come! The grace of our Lord Jesus Christ be with you. My love be with you all in Christ Jesus. Amen." 1 Corinth. 16:22-24

"But we are bound to give thanks to God always for you, brethren beloved by the Lord, because God from the beginning chose you for salvation through sanctification by the Spirit and belief in the truth." 2 Thess. 2:13

I have no plans for the rest of the day. I feel restless, but that is normal. Last night before going to bed I wrote in my diary and watched a DVD movie titled "Savages".

This morning I read "The Letters of Allen Ginsberg" and now I am not sure what I will read the rest of the day? Well I will close to wander my cell.

music: Damien Jurado "Caught In The Trees"

1:29 p.m. - 2008-09-06

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

freakyouout
jonathan
fragilegirl8
broken-in-nc
msjessica
poolagirl
fan4
joy-in-god
trapeze-act
oldjake
jedidiah77
silverluna
talktogod
realthoughts