glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Amusing Ourselves to Death

Time goes by on a typical Sunday afternoon in the life of Jonny Ray Keen. I came to my main study to write since Beth turned on the television. I can not hear my heart voice when the world is screaming at me from the television.

I thought Carol went to bed, but what she did was go take her mother to visit her dying sister. It must be difficult to say good-bye to ones dying sister.

Carol said she talked to Josiah on her cell phone this afternoon. She said he sounded like he had a head cold.

�The acts of the sinful nature are obvious: sexual immorality, impurity and debauchery; idolatry and witchcraft; hatred, discord, jealously, fits of rage, selfish ambition, dissensions, factions and envy; drunkenness, orgies, and the like. I warn you, as I did before, that those who live like this will not inherit the kingdom of God� Galatians 5:19-21

�Do not get drunk on wine, which leads to debauchery. Instead, be filled with the Spirit. Speak to one another with psalms, hymns and spiritual songs. Sing and make music in your heart to the Lord, always giving thanks to God the Father for everything, in the name of our Lord Jesus Christ� Ephesians 5:18-20

I have been thinking of reading �John Calvin�s Sermons on Ephesians� lately. This book was given to me for a gift when I graduated from Reformed Bible College back in 1981. I do not remember reading �Sermons On The Epistle To The Ephesians� by John Calvin since getting this book. I have in my book collection a John Calvin Collection.

I will quote Calvin on Ephesians 5:18-21---

�Next St. Paul adds that we should �talk together in songs and hymns, and also that the same should be done with the heart�, because the tongue would only profane the Word of God, if affection does not accompany the speech. Now when he says that we must talk together in hymns, praises, and songs, it is correct all foolish talk, to which we are too much given. For we see that all of us have itching ears, as it were.

There is none of us who is not keen to hear pretty gossip. Of that we never tire. He who has received on the one side is ready to speak it out on the other side. And so the day passes away in things of no consequence, or else our talk becomes wanton and loose, fitted to infect good manners, and God will be offended thereby.

You see then that the thing to which men are too much inclined is that, to please one another, they banish all talk that may edify, and trade in petty trifles to cause laughter, so to speak. Now St. Paul perceiving this vice to be too common in the world shows us here the remedy for it, namely, that we should talk to one another in songs and hymns, that is to say, that men might hear the praises of God from our mouths.

And he still pursues the comparison that he used before. For drunkards are not content to become beasts themselves, but they also draw others. And excess always has this follow-up, that in drinking they develop courage, saying, Come on, let us drink, in the same way that the prophet Isaiah speaks about them [Isa. 22:13; 56:12; 1 Cor. 15:32].� pg. 552 John Calvin SERMONS ON EPHESIANS
So here I sit in my study reading Calvin�s sermons on the Epistle to the Ephesians listening to Lucero. I do not feel like taking a nap. I can not go any where because Josiah took my van to GR last night. Plus where to do in this dead american world? I should close shop and pray before it is all over and the world is no more.

I have so much on my mind this afternoon and there is no one to have fellowship with.

There is nobody to unburden myself to these days. I have no soul brothers. To be honest I am a loner. I have spent many days alone with my dreams of perfection.

I just went to the kitchen to add ice cream to the rest of my extra mocha coffee drink. Bethany and Rudy are watching television.

Carol just got home so I will close to look at her before she disappears.

music: Lucero �Tennessee�

2:26 p.m. - 2006-06-11

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

freakyouout
jonathan
fragilegirl8
broken-in-nc
msjessica
poolagirl
fan4
joy-in-god
trapeze-act
oldjake
jedidiah77
silverluna
talktogod
realthoughts