glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

but shall take me with all His chosen ones to Himself into heavenly joy and glory

but shall take me with all His chosen ones to Himself into heavenly joy and glory

I am home from the egg pit. I went to work this morning extremely depressed and came home from work feeling like crap. I suffer from depression. I really had a hard day battling with depression. I prayed all day to the Lord to keep me going down the road of death. Work was a slow kill today. One of the fellows I work with did not show up today so we were short-Phin Lo and I had to work like slaves today-I came home from work feeling awful. What can I do? I have to go back to work tomorrow. I can only hope my life will soon be over so I can go Home and rest. At work I kept telling myself I can soon go home and go to bed. When I got home from work I found Bethany watching television-she left for work at 4:45 PM-Carol is sleeping. Nothing came in the mail for me today. I did get a religious magazine from some Reformed Right Wing folks-boring-I am not into right wing Reformed religion or Reformed Apologetics-I am into trying to get from one work day to the next without blowing out my brains. So I had one of those days at the bottom of the egg pit.

Last night Carol and I did go to church-we left for the temple at 6:10 PM and got home at 8:20 PM-when we got home we ate food and watched television-on Sunday nights we always watch 'Law & Order: Criminal Intent' Carol and I are fans of the actor Vincent D'Onfrio-Carol went to work at 10:45 PM and I went to bed at 11:15 PM-all I read last night was the book "God: A Biography" by Jack Miles.

At work I had on my mind a ton of crap-I wanted to quote in my livejournal what our pastor preached last night-he preached on the Heidelberg Catechism Lord's Day 19 Questions 50, 51 and 52. I will just quote Question and Answer 52. "What comfort is it to you that Christ shall come to judge the living and the dead? A. That in all my sorrows and persecutions, with uplifted head I look for the very same Person who before has offered Himself for my sake to the tribunal of God, and has removed all curse from me, to come as Judge from heaven; who shall cast all His and my enemies into everlasting condemnation, but shall take me with all His chosen one to Himself into heavenly joy and glory." I got out this evening to Read a two volume work titled "Guilt, Grace and Gratitude: Lectures on the Heidelberg Catechism by George W. Bethune- I quote from this work "There the man Christ Jesus, body and soul, was in glory,-a glory which he has promised them they should be partakers. Therefore, sinners though they were, partakers of flesh and blood, unworthy in themselves, and weak as they were unworthy, they knew that heaven was theirs; that they should enter heaven body and soul; that none could debar them entrance, because he, who has washed them from their sins in his own blood, and imputed to them his righteousness, and acknowledged them as members of his body, was now the king who had control over all the mansions of his Father's house, and had promised to come again and receive them unto himself, that where he is they should be also. They could have no doubt of his faithfulness, they could have no doubt of his power; for he had been faithful unto death, and was now head over all things to his church. Thus we find that an assured hope of heaven was the great stay and comfort of the apostles and of the primitive Christians. They set their hearts on heaven, and nothing short of heaven could at all satisfy their longing expectations. Doubt of their ultimate blessedness there, the possibility of their being disappointed, would have been to them the power of keenest torture: "If for this life only we have hope in Christ," said the apostle Paul, "we are of all men most miserable." Their hope was in Christ for the life to come. The same comfort is ours, beloved brethren. Our Saviour is in heaven; he is Lord of heaven-Lord of heaven in our nature; and in receiving him and crowning him, the Father has given am earnest of receiving us and crowning us, if we be indeed Christians. It was to gain heaven for us that our Lord Jesus suffered and endured; to reach heaven and be with him there, should be, as it is, the great aim of all his true followers, and our only comfort; but our unspeakable comfort is, that, whatever meets us here, heaven will be ours at last, because Christ has made it ours now. Let, then, our conversation be in heaven, our fellowship with the Father and his Son Jesus Christ, and the spirits of just men made perfect, and the holy angels. We are pilgrims now, but we are going home, and that home is heaven." pg.487 Volume One.

Well I am beat and I need to eat food. I will close to go fix myself a meal.

6:46 p.m. - 2003-02-10

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

freakyouout
jonathan
fragilegirl8
broken-in-nc
msjessica
poolagirl
fan4
joy-in-god
trapeze-act
oldjake
jedidiah77
silverluna
talktogod
realthoughts